Garlic Aioli with accompaniments

How could something so simple turn out so wrong.  I have made mayonnaise many times before but I’m not sure what happened this time.  I used my cuisinart to do this, but it just would not thicken at all.   Rather than waste any additional olive oil, I decided to use regular mayonnaise and just added garlic.  It certainly was not the same as the real aioli, but for a photo op it filled the bill.

I  enjoyed the vegetables being cooked for a minute rather than raw, I think they had more flavor  and  were tastier.

Instead of string beans I used small pieces of cauliflower along with the mini potatoes,  carrots, tomato and hard cooked eggs.  A good variety  and it would have been perfect with a real garlic aioli.

I’m sure this would be a lovely appetizer  with a glass of wine, and maybe I will revisit this again sometime.fullsizeoutput_162a

 

 

7 thoughts on “Garlic Aioli with accompaniments

  1. I think there’s a mistake in the recipe. Like you, I make mayo in the food processor all the time and it seldom fails. I liked the assorted vegetables though. Will try again adding garlic to my favorite recipe for mayo.

    Like

  2. I think there was twice as much oil as we actually needed. I think he meant to add an “OR” in olive oil OR vegetable oil. Mine was soup. I wasted a cup of really good olive oil also. However, I must say that this problem doesn’t happen very often when I am cooking from books so nothing to be too upset about. My garlic aioli tasted pretty good.

    Like

  3. I don’t think we’ve had too many failures from this book, so our average is pretty good.

    Everything on your plate looks delicious. I was going to hard boil some eggs for this, but a vegan showed up for dinner unexpectedly, so I didn’t. With everything so fresh and beautiful, the all-veggie dinner was perfectly satisfying!

    Like

  4. I like the idea of doing this as an appetizer, especially if the meal later will be heavy. Too bad the aioli recipe didn’t work, but we know there are other good recipes out there.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.